• Home
  • Swerve Strickland, Mercedes Mone Win Big at AEW Forbidden Door

Share & Comment:

Swerve Strickland, Mercedes Mone Win Big at AEW Forbidden Door

Swerve Strickland continued his strong World title reign with a win over “The Aerial Assassin” Will Ospreay at the AEW Forbidden Door pay-per-view on Sunday night.

Ospreay had been undefeated in AEW, and some fans thought he would win the belt and headline the All In pay-per-view in his homeland of England.

However, Swerve’s time is not up, as he hit the House Call kick and Big Pressure powerbomb for the win.

Mercedes Mone retained the TBS with a win over Stephanie Vaquer. The former Sasha Banks also captured the New Japan Strong women’s title, so she is off to a hot start in AEW.

Dr. Britt Baker returned during Mone’s post-match celebration, so that could be a feature match at All In.


The Elite had a great night in the promotion that was named after them. Jack Perry captured the vacant TNT title in a ladder match that also included Mark Briscoe, Lio Rush, Konosuke Takeshita, El Phantasmo, and Dante Martin.

Perry was originally tabbed as one of the “Four Pillars” of AEW along with Darby Allin, MJF, and Sammy Guevara. Perry became the final Pillar to win a recognized singles title in AEW.

The other Elite members were also victorious. The Young Bucks and Kazuchika Okada beat The Acclaimed & Hiroshi Tanahashi. Okada used his Rainmaker clothesline to pin his rival, Tanahashi.

New Japan star Tetsuya Naito recaptured the IWGP World title from Jon Moxley. Naito hit the Destino backflip slam to win the belt for the fourth time.


MJF opened the show to a huge welcome from his Long Island fans. He defeated Mexican star Hechicero with a brainbuster.

Toni Storm retained the AEW women’s title over Mina Shirakawa. Mariah May celebrated with both combatants after the match.

Brian Danielson defeated Shingo Takagi in the first round of the Owen Hart Foundation Cup tournament. Danielson will face PAC in the semifinal on Wednesday night’s Dynamite show.

In other bouts, Zack Sabre Jr. beat Orange Cassidy by submission; and Samoa Joe, Hook & Katsuyori Shibata defeated Chris Jericho, Jeff Cobb & Big Bill.


Sign up below for the latest news, stories and podcasts from our affiliates

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.