Share & Comment:

T.J. Watt wins AFC Defensive Player of the Year Award

As more 2023 NFL awards are announced, the hardware for the Pittsburgh Steelers continues to increase. In the most recent major award announced, T.J. Watt has been selected as the AFC Defensive Player of the Year by the Committee of 101. It is the third time in the past four seasons Watt has been chosen for the award.

For the 2023 season, T.J. Watt led the NFL in sacks with 19. It is the third time Watt has led the NFL in this category as he did so in 2020 and 2021. Watt is the only player to lead the league in sacks three times since individual stats became official in 1982.

In addition to sacks, Watt also led the NFL in quarterback hits with 36 and was tied for second in fumble recoveries with three. Watt also had 19 tackles for loss, four forced fumbles, eight passes defensed, and an interception.

Earlier this offseason, White was also selected to the Pro Bowl as well as being selected AP First-Team All-Pro.

The Committee of 101 has been given awards for the AFC and NFC offensive and defensive player of the year as well as coach of the year for each conference since 1969. The only season three did not give the awards was the strike-shortened season of 1982. They are a national media committee of 101 sports writers or sports casters who cover the NFL.

As for the other award winners for 2023, they can be seen below:

AFC Offensive Player of the Year: Lamar Jackson, QB , BAL
NFC Offensive Player of the Year,: Christian McCaffrey, RB, SFO
AFC Defensive Player of the Year: T.J. Watt, LB, PIT
NFC Defensive Player of the Year: Micah Parsons, LB, DAL
AFC Coach of the Year: DeMeco Ryans, HOU
NFC Coach of the Year: Dan Campbell, DET


Sign up below for the latest news, stories and podcasts from our affiliates

Sorry. This form is no longer accepting new submissions.