Share & Comment:

Joey Porter Jr. named to the PFWA All-rookie team

In the season of various awards given to NFL players based on their performance in 2023, the Pittsburgh Steelers have announced Joey Porter Jr. has been selected to the Pro Football Writers of America’s All-Rookie Team.

Joey Porter Jr. appeared in all 17 regular season games as well as the Steelers postseason contest in 2023. Starting 11 regular season games and one in the playoffs, Porter had 45 tackles, 10 passes defensed, and an interception in his rookie season. According to Pro Football Reference, Porter only gave up one touchdown on the season and gave up 30 completions on 63 targets for a 47.6% completion rate during the regular season.

Porter broke into the starting lineup in Week 8 and played 90% or more of the defensive snaps in the Steelers final 10 regular season contests with seven of them where Porter played 100% of the snaps. In the Steelers Wild Card matchup, Porter left the game in the second half due to being placed in the NFL‘s concussion protocol.

The other cornerback selected  to PFW A’s all rookie team was Devon Witherspoon of the Seattle Seahawks.

The following is the criteria for players to be eligible for the Pro Football Writers of America’s All-Rookie Team:

“The PFWA has honored an All-Rookie team every season since 1974. Only players who are in their first season of pro football are designated as rookies by the NFL and are eligible for PFWA rookie awards. Players designated as NFL first-year players who have been active in another pro football league or who have NFL experience, including preseason training camp in a previous season, are not eligible for All-Rookie awards.”

Several other members of the Steelers rookie class who could have potentially been in consideration for selection were offensive tackle Broderick Jones, defensive tackle Keeanu Benton, and special-teams ace Nick Herbig. Unfortunately, Porter was the only member of the Pittsburgh Steelers selected.

The PFWA Rookie of the Year Award went to Houston Texan’s quarterback C.J. Stroud who also earned their Offensive Rookie of the Year. The selection for their Defensive Rookie of the Year Award went to another Texan in Will Anderson Jr.

A complete list of the PFWA all rookie team can be seen here:


QB – C.J. Stroud, Houston Texas
RB – Jahmyr Gibbs, Detroit Lions; Bijan Robinson, Atlanta Falcons
WR – Jordan Addison, Minnesota Vikings; Puka Nacua, Los Angeles Rams
TE – Sam LaPorta, Detroit Lions
C – Joe Tippmann, New York Jets
G – Steve Avila, Los Angeles Rams; O’Cyrus Torrence, Buffalo Bills
T – Dawand Jones, Cleveland Browns; Darnell Wright, Chicago Bears

DL – Will Anderson Jr., Houston Texans; Jalen Carter, Philadelphia Eagles; Tuli Tuipulotu, Los Angeles Chargers; Kobie Turner, Los Angeles Rams
LB – Jack Campbell, Detroit Lions; Ivan Pace Jr., Minnesota Vikings; Byron Young, Los Angeles Rams
CB – Joey Porter Jr., Pittsburgh Steelers; Devon Witherspoon, Seattle Seahawks
S – Jordan Battle, Cincinnati Bengals; Ji’Ayir Brown, San Francisco 49ers

Special Teams
PK – Jake Moody, San Francisco 49ers
P – Bryce Baringer, New England Patriots
KR – Marvin Mims Jr., Denver Broncos
PR – Derius Davis, Los Angeles Chargers
ST – Jerrick Reed II, Seattle Seahawks


Sign up below for the latest news, stories and podcasts from our affiliates

Sorry. This form is no longer accepting new submissions.