Share & Comment:

Cam Heward selected as the NFL’s 2023 Walter Payton Man of the Year

The National Football League has been honoring a Man of the Year since the NFL-AFL merger in 1970. Awarded to a player who exemplifies excellence both on and off the field through volunteering in their community, the award was renamed in 1999 in honor of the late Bears running back Walter Payton. This prestigious award is given to one player in the NFL each season. All 32 NFL teams nominate one player before the league announces the award at the NFL awards ceremony during the week before the Super Bowl.

For 2023, the Walter Payton Man of the Year is Steelers defensive captain Cameron Heyward.

This was the sixth time Heyward has been the Steelers nominee, and 2023 marked Heyward’s third year in a row. Four other players from the Steelers have gone on to ultimately win the award with the most recent being Jerome Bettis in 2001. Other award winners were Lynn Swann in 1981, Joe Greene in 1979, and Franco Harris in 1976.

Heyward, who started the “Heyward House” charity, has become a fixture in the city of Pittsburgh helping as many at-risk youth as he possibly can. The Heyward House has done a tremendous job in helping organizations such as: Southeastern Brain Tumor Foundation, Boys & Girls Club of Western Pennsylvania, DKMS, KidsVoice, Smyrna Stars Baksetball Club and other after school fitness programs. Heyward also began Craig’s Closet, Cam’s Week of Kindness, and also started a toy and coat drive with the Foster Love Project.

Congratulations to Cam Heyward for taking home the NFL’s 2023 Walter Payton Man of the Year.


Sign up below for the latest news, stories and podcasts from our affiliates

Sorry. This form is no longer accepting new submissions.